XP Day London in Retrospect

As I wrote earlier this week I was looking forward to go to London.XPDay London was in my knowledge the first XPDay in Europe and I had good memories about it.
This year was a special year as they tried out a new format. A lot more open space and only a few programmed sessions.
I like the Belgium BarCamp’s a lot. I have been planning to go to Agile open for a long time, and I ‘m ready to participate in The Open Core somewhere in 2009.
That was also a reason for me to see how this would go for XP Days London.

I don’t know what other people felt about it, but I really enjoyed it.

As always at a conference I missed more sessions as I did follow. Luckily for me I was now able to follow the Joseph’s session about self-organisation.

Since Agile 2008 I knew he did not like the Form-Storm-Norm-Perform model.

Now I finally now why. Not only that, he had some great other models as a replacement. We did not have time to discuss Tuckman model, but I loved the new model’s Joseph gave us. I can see where I can use them to understand my current team.

It also explained very nicely why we Belgium’s agilist’s prefer to teach people by exiting games and not by boring lectures.

I already uploaded my pictures about Xpday London to Flickr

If you have been to this XPday or any other, and are a member of Linkedin feel free to join the xp day group at linkedin:

http://www.linkedin.com/e/gis/36977

I am Yves Hanoulle, your virtual Project Coach and you can reach me @ Yves at my agile training company .net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This year I did not connect so much with the English crew as what I had planned to.

Leave a Reply

