I also have a Vista Black screen

On the last day of my TDD course at Europlus, my laptop started to behave strangely. Windows Live OneCare would not start anymore. My Network icon said I had no network and still I could surf on the net.

On top of that some windows support tools did not work any longer.

I suspected a virus, although I had no reason to think I could have become infected all of a sudden.

Because I was PairCoaching the training with Matti, I moved my .Net, nHibernate examples to Matti’s PC.

As it was the end of my training I let my computer revert to an older state. (I forgot the name of this option.)

Now things got worse: when I logged on after rebooting my machine,  I got a black screen, a mouse pointer and that was it.

Googling around gave me lots and lot’s of hits.

Control Alt Delete and in the task manager launching explorer did not work for me.

Killing the previous instance from explorer and then launching an explorer got my shell back, but not in the original state, that is half of the services did not run.

Another tip talked about going into safe more and turning of “User Account control”, yep that worked also in the sense that now I have a shell when I reboot. Still the services say dead.

Some blogs suspect some kind of Microsoft control that turns of functionality for Vista. That sounds correct, but the screenshots I saw are different then my situation and I paid for my laptop with Vista pre-installed. So I shure hope that is not the case.

Update:

 

When I run Sysinternals AutoRun as suggested by this blogpost I see three drivers (not found:

IpInIpIP in IP Tunnel Driver        File not found: system32\DRIVERS\ipinip.sys   

NwlnkFltIPX Traffic Filter Driver        File not found: system32\DRIVERS\nwlnkflt.sys   

NwlnkFwdIPX Traffic Forwarder Driver        File not found: system32\DRIVERS\nwlnkfwd.sys   

Two Internet explorer add in’s:

eBay.co.uk – Buy It Sell It Love It        File not found: http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-44557-9400-3/4

Amazon.co.uk        File not found: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/redirect-home?tag=Toshibaukbholink-21&site=home

 

I also noticed that

Toshiba RegistrationVista Registration    (Verified) Toshiba Europe GmbH    c:\program files\toshiba\registration\toshibaregistration.exe   

Was still running at startup, which is a little bit stupid as I run registered on my first day..

Headcult suggested in one of comments at the blog post to look in the registry at

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

 

Mmm, these things don’t seem to help…

Oh I also installed another anti-virus and checked my computer, nothing found.

 

I will look and Google some more…

 

Next week I’m doing consultancy where I need my laptop and should be able to print (which does not work as the printservice does not work). So if you have any idea, will you help me?

2 Responses

  1. Depens on what you need for the consultancy. If you don’t need your .net environment but only printing, wordprocessing and e-mail, you could take a ubuntu live cd – that will access the documents that are still on your laptop.
    Assuming you have some other computer to download the cd trying that option should take about one or two pomodori 😉

    In the meantime you can then figure out what is wrong with your vista…

    If you need windows stuff you could install a VM (e.g. vmware) with say, windows XP from within ubuntu.

    Believe it or not, you are in luck that your pre-installed vista ran at all. I recently bought two laptops, on one of them it did not even make it past the install (it re-booted and then got stuck on some vague error correction action that I could not interrupt).

  2. Well I don’t need my computer during the consultancy, But I do need acces to my mail and documents on my harddrive. That is why this wek I work in “windows safe mode”.
    If I would have problems at orginal boot time, that would have been better as now. As now I alreayd “depend” on the machine.

    I do have some Ubuntu Cd’s at home.
    The problem I have with Ubuntu is that I can’t find my way around it. I’m too much used to Windows.

Leave a Reply

