I want a Toshiba M-700, they don’t want to sell it to me…

I have been postponing to buy a new PC for a long time.

Last week my hard drive crashed, only a week after reinstalling my machine. I luckily I was able to clone my harddisk, the same night. Everything woks fine now, but it was the sign to start looking for a new machine.

After working with a super notebook, similar to this one, I’m ready for a ultra portable one.

I considered a MacBookPro, but I am still to much addicted to the Microsoft way of working

I still use my old laptop a lot at home. So I looked again at Toshiba. And yes they released a new Tablet. The M700.

It’s a great machine.

Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T7700 (2.40GHz, 4MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)

Windows Vista® Ultimate 32-Bit

4096MB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM (2048MBx2)

1GB Onboard Intel® Turbo Memory 

Intel® Turbo Memory* improves the general system performance with faster read/write access times and reduced boot-up times, and increases the laptop power efficiency by moving frequently accessed data over to the flash memory from the hard drive.

12.1″ WXGA Backlit Display supporting digital pen with indoor/outdoor viewing (1280×800)

Active Digitizer with Pen and Touch Screen Input

Mobile Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 with 8MB-251MB dynamically allocated shared graphics memory

120GB HDD (7200rpm, Serial-ATA)

DVD SuperMulti (+/-R double layer) drive

Bluetooth® Version 2.0 +EDR

Lithium Ion Battery (6-Cell, 4700mAh)

3 Year Standard Limited Warranty 
(1-Year on Battery and AC Adapter)


Great machine, great configuration, great price.

==>Great problem
not available in this configuration in Belgium.

I tried asking Toshiba Belgium for more info, but they don’t want to help.

Basically they said they were not interested in me as a customer.

That would be fine if ToshibaDirect.com would also sell to people outside the US, but they don’t. ToshibaDirect is not interested in people outside the States.

They said it’s ok to buy it and send it to an American Friend. He can bring it to Belgium. But they don’t want to sell it to someone outside the USA.

So I have tow options:

Buy the Belgium one, and replace the harddrive with a faster one, replace the standard memory with enough memory so its workable, or ask American friends to bring the machine with them (and not being able to deduct the taxes)

Both expensive choices, maybe I should buy a Mac after all…

Update: I bought it anyway, and I wrote a perfection game about it

7 Responses

  1. Go the Mac! bug free, dead easy to use, super stylish…..it’s a very smooth ride.

  2. I still prefer to find a solution for the M700

  3. My It-shop has figured out that replacing the memory is a lot cheaper then what is charged on the
    ToshibaDirct site.
    I’m not able to buy the fast harddrive, nor do I find a solidstate drive. I will probably buy the solidstate drive next year. It will be a lot cheaper, and hopefully also bigger.

  4. what are you taking about here you pay euro1700 for it in the us $1700
    1 dollar= 0,65 euro
    it’s alot cheaper there
    and don’t go to toshiba.com try a online shop
    http://www.techonweb.com they ship international for $125

  5. @Alex:
    I was talking about the cheap price for the memory. On the ToshibaDirect it is 450 dollar for 4 GB. I can buy toshiba approved 4 GB in Belgum for 80 Euro’s.
    And I still have the original 1 GB …

  6. […] Toshiba: M700 perfection game Posted on April 29, 2008 by paircoaching A few weeks ago I finally bought the M700 I was talking about in my older post. […]

  7. […] ik met de vraag zitten of ik nu volledig Apple ga, of gelijk Yves voor een tablet kies. Ik geef mezelf 2 weken […]

Leave a Reply

