The system DLL user32.dll was relocated in memory. Systeem-DLL-bestand user32.dll is verplaatst in het geheugen.

 

My favorite sales person, had another problem on his machine:

Systeem-DLL-bestand user32.dll is verplaatst in het geheugen. De toepassing zal niet goed werken. De verplaatsing was nodig omdat DLL-bestand C:\WINDOWS\system32\HHCTRL.OCX een adresbereik in beslag nam dat was gereserveed voor systeem-DLL bestanden van Windows. Neem contact op met de leverancier van het DLL-bestand voor een nieuwe versie.

Or in English:

application_executable_name – Illegal System DLL Relocation
The system DLL user32.dll was relocated in memory. The application will not run properly. The relocation occurred because the DLL C:\Windows\System32\Hhctrl.ocx occupied an address range reserved for Windows system DLLs. The vendor supplying the DLL should be contacted for a new DLL.

Both User32.dll and or Hhctrl.ocx are from Microsoft. So the vendor they are talking about, is Microsoft.

After a little googling I found a solution on the Microsoft KB site. But it turns out to be not so simple.
I did not have time to try it out.
I am posting this for 2 reasons

  • 1 to find this info it back when I will need it
  • 2 I am also surprised by the message/ error itself. 2 MS files that get into conflict about memory?

When I was teaching VB6 courses, I warned people that all VB6 applications are standard using the same memory address, and that this re-location can slow things down. It was pretty easy to change that address, the big problem was to what new address. Because of that I know nobody that did this on a regular basis for all dll’s created in their company. I knew it was slowing things down, that it would actually crash that is new to me.

I am Yves Hanoulle, your virtual Project coach and you can reach me at blog at my name @ my training company .net

Leave a Reply

